Meaningful Work Reflects The Bigger Picture

There is nothing better than to enjoy food and drink and to find satisfaction in work.

Brian Roland
4 min readJan 8, 2021
Drone Shot By Brian Roland

If history proves anything, it’s that nothing man-made is permanent. Leaders come and leaders go. Nations rise and nations fall. Businesses open, and businesses close. Ideas succeed, and ideas fail. People live, and people die.

In the past, this always struck me as a depressing reality. But as I get older, I’m finding that there is beauty, meaning, and peace in the fact that life goes on, regardless of the outcome of any particular situation.

It’s important to remember that this rhythm of life is compounded by competing storylines. There’s a global storyline affecting the world, a national storyline shaping our culture, and a personal storyline impacting what is most precious to us, our families, our households, our spouses, and our children.

It’s a scary thing when the global or national storylines threaten our personal story, (eg: COVID-19, social uprising, value conflicting ideas, political change). And I believe there’s an even bigger storyline in play with the power to shape our lives and bring us hope.

While it may seem that God is not present within the storylines around us (or at all), the bigger picture, His story, is completely under His authority and within His control, whether we choose to believe it or not. It’s this assurance that keeps me grounded when the world seems to produce endless bad news and scary headlines. If you have a hard time believing that God is the author of an invisible storyline that takes precedence over the narratives you and I experience every day, then can I offer you some advice? It may be a good time to give God the chance, or maybe another chance, to reveal Himself to you in the same way that He’s proven Himself to those of us who can no longer deny His presence. This small act of humility on your part may be the step you need to change your life forever.

We don’t have much control over our own story (past trauma, health, income, circumstances), but we do have the ability to shape our future, one decision at a time. The decisions we make today impact the bigger picture around us, and to me, that is the most meaningful work we can do.

We all have the potential to be purpose-driven leaders at home, around the office, in our neighborhoods, and within our communities. This is a simple calling that we can all share, and it’s where we’ll find the meaning, peace, and security we desire.

Psalm 62 reminds me of this reality. I like how it encourages us to keep our hope and trust in God alone and focus on the simple work in front of us. I truly believe that simple work has the ability to change the world. When your decisions, your words, and your actions honor God, you’re engaged in “meaningful work,” and you’re changing the world.

You are valuable, what you do matters, and you can make a difference.

Chase your dreams. Love the people around you. Be consistent with your actions. And press on!

Psalm 62: 1–12, ESV

“For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation. He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken. How long will all of you attack a man to batter him, like a leaning wall, a tottering fence? They only plan to thrust him down from his high position. They take pleasure in falsehood. They bless with their mouths, but inwardly they curse. For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken. On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God. Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. Those of low estate are but a breath; those of high estate are a delusion; in the balances they go up; they are together lighter than a breath. Put no trust in extortion; set no vain hopes on robbery; if riches increase, set not your heart on them. Once God has spoken; twice have I heard this: that power belongs to God, and that to you, O Lord, belongs steadfast love. For you will render to a man according to his work.”

Ecclesiastes 2:24 25, ESV

“So I decided there is nothing better than to enjoy food and drink and to find satisfaction in work. Then I realized that these pleasures are from the hand of God. For who can eat or enjoy anything apart from him?”

Looking for a next step? Join my community of purpose-driven leaders to get FREE resources for your team.

--

--

Brian Roland

6x Inc. 5000 Founder, #OnMission as a distributed team builder, social entrepreneur, bootstrapper; husband & girl dad; coffee nerd, trumpeter, drone pilot